top of page

The First 2 Months

It has now been a little over 3 months since I left home, and over 2 months since I've arrived in Majuro. It's crazy how fast time is flying and how much has happened in this period of time. Adjusting to this lifestyle has been quite challenging but I've noticed that with time I am finally beginning to feel more comfortable and at home. I've slowly begun to become more used to the humidity, Marshallese time, and to the best of my ability... teaching. There will be days that I find myself sitting and being lost in thought, and I'll be hit with the reality of my current life situation. I am on an island 5,000 miles away from home, far away from my family and friends for 10 months teaching a class of 25 fifth graders with no education classes or experience. I look at the 7 other student missionaries who are here serving with me and reflect on how God has placed us all here together for a reason and how we are all experiencing these similar feelings and experiences together.



Whats Happened:

  • Our first weekend here we camped at an outer island in Calalin. It was filled with hammock camping, mosquitos, rainstorms all throughout the night, swimming, and getting to know the other SMs as this journey begins.

  • We've gone to our first few birthday parties. Birthday parties are big here and so much fun!


  • I just finished coaching the HS girls basketball team and had such an amazing time growing closer to the girls and sharing with them my love for the sport.

  • We had numerous trips to the other end of the island, Laura, where our other school campus is located that teaches grades k-8. We visit there every last sabbath of the month and sometimes will camp down there as well. This most recent sabbath I was blessed with the opportunity to share the sermon, and it was such an amazing experience.



  • We had our school carnival in the beginning of November which needed lots of preparation, but it was worth all the hard work seeing how much fun the students and their parents had enjoying the various activities and foods.

  • The other week the freshman surprised us with cake and songs in honor of celebrating Thanksgiving, making it feel a little more at home. And thanksgiving night all of the SMs got together for a dinner together which made my heart so warm.

  • Friday, November 26th, we had our elementary and high school field day filled with fun games for groups to compete in. These included balloon pop, relay races, and more.

  • The most recent thing that has happened that will forever be one of my favorite memories here was this last Thursday. We are now entering the rainy season and so it rains almost every day. We were preparing for our Christmas concert that would take place this night and it began pouring rain. Two of the other student missionaries decided to go run in the rain, and after hearing the news of the concert being canceled due to extreme weather conditions, we all decided to join in. Jumping and running in the flooding grass fields of the school with a few students while thunder roars and occasional lightning strikes lit up the sky will forever be a memory locked in my brain.

  • And of course the CONSTANT showers of love from the students and local kids.




There have been so many small moments that help remind me why I am here. These last few weeks I have felt like I am connecting with all 25 of my students. Many are understanding concepts that we are learning in class that they've struggled with before. But what gets me is the way they all show us their love. We are flooded with hugs and kind notes and cards from so many different students. They are a one of the biggest reasons why we are here. They are so appreciative, and family-oriented that they treat us as if we've been here forever, and not just a few months.

With this comes my gratitude and appreciation for the people God has placed in my life here in Majuro. This includes the school staff, my students, my sports girls, and even those students I may not teach or coach that I have grown closer to with time. But most importantly, the other student missionaries. I look at the 7 other student missionaries who are here serving with me and reflect on how God has placed us all here together for a reason and how we are all experiencing these similar feelings together. There are 8 total college students who are serving in Majuro. 6 from Andrews University, and 2 from Walla Walla. Each day I feel more and more connected to each one of the other student missionaries that are here. We spend days driving around the island listening to music laughing and singing together. We enjoy eating out together at the limited restaurants that are here on the island. It's amazing how well we all get along, and how much fun we've had together already. With us all going through this journey together with similar experiences and feelings, it's so easy to have insightful conversations with everyone. I am very excited to see what's to come with this group that I can now call my family.



The last few days I have felt the happiest that I've been in months. Not once have I questioned whether or not this is where I am supposed to be. Each day there is a small reminder about why I am here and how its where Im meant to be. Preparing for this year, I questioned and doubted God more times than I could count. But after numerous encounter with Him, time in my bible, and many conversations with friends and family, my mind seems to have changed direction. I am so happy with my decision to be a student missionary this year and wouldn't want it any other way. This is a year for serving, a year for growth, and a year to follow God's calling for life.


"You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you."

Psalm 32:7-8








Comments


bottom of page