top of page

Self Reflection


Growing up I would always say that I would never become a teacher. Now here I am ending my 10 month journey of teaching twenty five 5th graders in Majuro. When first arriving here, things seemed so strange. But with time, I adjusted to the heat, cockroaches, ants and rats, riding in the bed of a truck without seatbelts, and teaching. It all began to become a part of my everyday life. It became “normal” and started to feel less like a year serving as a student missionary and more like any other year of my life. Though I faced many challenges, there is no other place I would have rather spent my year. This is an opportunity many people will never get the chance to experience, and I will forever remember and hold a special place in my heart for my students, Delap SDA, and Majuro.


Due to Covid at the time, getting into the Marshall Islands required a long 3-4 weeks of quarantine. After leaving family, friends, and the life I was used to living, it seemed to me that I would never get through the quarantine process. Looking back, those 4 weeks seem like nothing when compared to the last 9 months and all the amazing experiences I've had while serving. While preparing for this journey, and sitting in quarantine, I found myself so wrapped up in everything that would be hard and everything I could possibly lose while being away. Oftentimes, when we are going through trials or change, we focus on the loss that is involved. However, we know that God works everything together for the good of those who believe in Him. It took me so long to realize that while we might not see the purpose behind what we are experiencing in the current moment, but we can trust that God has a greater plan. Looking back now, I am able to reflect and see the change and growth that I've had within myself this last year. I see the church, school, and SM family that I have gained. I have stories and memories that will last a lifetime, all caused by God's calling for my life. And each minute spent in quarantine will forever be worth that growth and change.


If anyone is considering becoming a student missionary but is questioning whether or no they are capable, I can promise that whatever challenges you face, the students will be worth every minute of your year. Each day hearing “Good morning Ms!”or receiving countless hugs and the bright smiles we would see everyday really helped remind me of the real reason for serving. Though I questioned my ability to handle the change, adjustments, and teaching, I learned this year that no matter what comes my way or what journey I wish to experience, I can do whatever I put my mind to with God by my side through it all.



“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear though the earth gives way, though the mountains be moved into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam, though the mountains tremble at its swelling”

(Psalm 46:1–3).


Comments


bottom of page