top of page

The Final Stretch

"Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus." —Philippians 4:6


I knew when I began my blog that it would be one more thing I would add to my list of “things I'm inconsistent with.” And here we are, over 2 months since I've posted my last blog. Oops...


These last 2 and a half months have flown by! Each week goes so fast. I woke up one morning and looked at the date on my phone and was in disbelief when I said “APRIL.”


As January came to an end, I found myself with a book in my hand that Se Bin had brought with her. Since then, I have read 7 books. A few of them I finished in less than 24 hours... and I am looking forward to adding to my list of “2022 read books.” In elementary and high school, I was never a reader. I struggled to achieve reading goals and could never enjoy just sitting down with a book. But now, I am adding books daily to my “want to read” list and ordering books for when I return home. One of the many things that were unexpected this year.


In February, our elementary classes had an education week filled with a science fair, spelling bee, and math competition. It was so fun to see them be creative with their projects and work hard to do their best in spelling and math. My students placed 3rd and I couldn't be more proud! But most importantly, they came back saying how much fun they had before even receiving their place and prizes.

We began the month of March with a trip to an outer island on our day off of school. I love going to outer islands for a change of scenery. They're all so green and fun to explore. I will miss the beautiful waters and the memories we would make while being away for the day.

I had the privilege of coaching HS girls volleyball and being an assistant to jr high. Just as it did with basketball, coaching these girls rekindled my love for volleyball. Seeing the girls love the sport I did growing up was so much fun! It soon led to me being on a co-ed team with 4 of the other SM boys competing against locals. Coaching, and playing, were not something I would've ever imagined to be ways I spent my year, but they will forever be some of my favorite memories.


April has been one of my favorite months since being here. It's been the one I think I've enjoyed the most. It's been filled with lots of volleyball, getting my Majuro drivers license, spring break, day trips to outer islands, lots and lots of dogs, sunsets, endless time spent with children, and LOTS of laughter.

And all the in-between. Each day is always filled with something new. From walks around the area, finding new places to eat, time with the local kids, making new memories with our students, and so much more.


As we began to near the end of the third quarter we were told that this would be the hardest part of the year. “The final stretch. ”It was said that the mental and physical exhaustion would start to kick in, we would become more homesick, missing our friends and family, and we’d need to start preparing to say goodbyes. And now here we are, less than 50 days before we fly home entering the final 4 weeks of our school year. Getting a plane ticket back, thinking about packing, and knowing time with the students is slowly coming to an end makes it all feel so real. It's crazy to think that it has now been 8 whole months since I left California. This journey has become less of an “SM year,” and more of any other normal year in my life. I have adjusted to the daily routines and fell in love with the culture, people, and lifestyle of my life in Majuro. I have felt the strongest connections with my students, kids in other classes, my fellow SMs, and Christ. My students have become some of my best friends.


Thinking about the life I have lived these last 8 months, and the thought of it all coming to an end breaks my heart. It's surreal to me how it will all be over in just a short period of time. When thinking about leaving, I have mixed emotions. I get to see my friends and family who I haven't seen for a while, I get to tell everyone the stories from my experiences, and I get to do many things I couldn't do while being here. But at the same time, everyone who knows me knows how much I struggle with goodbyes and change. I feel like I have finally fully adjusted to life here, and I will soon need to adjust back to the life I lived before. It's crazy to think after all this time, it will all be over. And before I know it I will be home and readjusted to the life I had before. But this place and all of its people will forever hold a special place in my heart. I've learned about life, myself, and have become so much stronger when faced with challenges and trials. I made some amazing friends through my fellow SMs and look forward to where those friendships will be led in time. I got to do something with my life that many people never even get the opportunity to do. Living on an island, surrounded by so many fun children, dogs, warm weather, the beautiful ocean, the breathtaking sunsets and sunrises, and the ability to see God in different ways every day. Having the opportunity to share God's love, follow His calling for my life, and to serve is something I will never forget. Although my time here was only temporary, the impact will be everlasting.


The future is scary. And thinking about leaving the position of the teacher, and becoming a student again is a weird concept to grasp. Not too long ago I figured out my schedule for returning to Walla Walla for Fall 2022 to cotinue my nusing major. I will be coming home to a job on campus which was an answer to my prayers. I have a fun summer planned with freinds and family that I am looking forward to. But after being away for so long, returning home is a scary thought. Questioning how things will go academically, with my old friends, and how I will handle being away from the place that has been my home this last year. Thinking back 8 to 9 months ago, I was in the same position that I am now; scared to face what's ahead. But after this year and its challenges, I know that although it may be scary, everything happens for a reason, and with God by my side, all is possible.




I ask for prayers as we wrap up our 2021-2022 school year. Please pray that the students and teachers can finish strong. Prayers are needed for the upcoming school years for Delap and Laura's SDA school campuses. Teachers are needed and I pray all the students and staff have an amazing school year. Please pray for my fellow SMs as they go about this change and say their goodbyes to their students and new friends they've made this year. I pray that we all leave a positive and encouraging mark in Majuro, teaching our students about the love of God. I pray for the opportunity to return here someday to serve in a small way and to keep Majuro forever in my heart. Pray as we go about this change, readjustment, and many goodbyes….

Amen
















Comments


bottom of page