top of page

Returning home; Life after majuro

It has been a little over two months since I’ve returned home from Majuro and adjusting to life back in California has been quite the journey. Words cannot express how much I miss all the kids, the locals, and life on an island. I've enjoyed staying connected through Facebook and I hope to keep in touch with them as they continue to learn and grow throughout the next few years. Majuro and Delap SDA will always have a special place and I hope to possibly return there someday.

During the year, I would stress about what it would be like coming home from a year of serving. Reverse culture shock is a highly discussed topic prior to leaving for the year to prepare you as best as you can for coming back home. But you really don’t know what it will be like until you are there yourself. Connecting with friends and family is one of the best feelings. Although, there have been many times that I was unable to engage in conversations regarding an event or something that happened while I was away. It’s very easy to feel left out, or sad for what you missed out on with your friends while hearing about the previous school year. But what we are encouraged to do is remember the amazing year we had, and the opportunities we were given that many people may never get to experience themselves. It's been nice to keep in touch with most of the SMs I have served to help each other through this transition period. I look forward to where God will lead these new friendships I made as we continue to remember our years as student missionaries together.

What’s next?

In September I will return to Walla Walla university to continue my path as a nursing major! In 2020 I began my freshman year at Walla Walla in the middle of the pandemic, and was unable to experience college for all that it could be. Then after spending the last year away, I look forward to finally having that college experience with a full campus and lots of fun ASWWU events! I know it will be a great year making new friends, sharing my experience as an SM, furthering my knowledge in nursing, and going wherever God may lead me next.


COVID and the Marshall Islands

As of August 8, the RMI experienced their first cases of covid-19. School is closed for the next 2 months… our kiddos would’ve started school a few days ago. Please pray for their safety and health as they deal with this exposure. Please pray as well for the current student missionaries who are planning on serving in Majuro this year



I am forever grateful for the opportunity I was blessed to have last year. Despite the doubt, struggles, and fear, I have now been able to reflect on this last year and see the growth I endured and all the experiences I was able to have. I HIGHLY recommend becoming a student missionary or doing any type of service, short or long term. The impact you will have on those you encounter will be life changing, but what's even more

meaningful is the impact they will have on you.







Comments


bottom of page