top of page

God's Calling

{September 2, 2021}


A few weeks ago I decided to begin reading my bible daily to help prepare myself for the upcoming challenges I could face while serving. I know the importance of my relationship with God, and how helpful His support will be during this journey. So I knew that getting into reading my bible would be a great way to start. This is something I have tried to do for the last few years and have always found myself struggling to stay consistent. I asked a close friend which books of the Bible she would recommend starting with and she mentioned Philippians and Ephesians. Both books are quite short, yet as I read, I felt that I received various messages despite their lengths. I decided to read Ephesians and highlighted a few verses that I felt related to my upcoming year. Right away in Ephesians 1:2 Paul the Apostle states, "Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ." During the rollercoasters of emotions that have come within the last few days, weeks, and months leading up to departure for this trip, I have felt anything but peace. It has seemed that so many things are falling out of place and are going wrong. I feel uneasy knowing that the islanders are struggling with their school systems due to the pandemic, and there's not much I can do to help until I arrive. Later in the chapter, he writes something that I knew I was meant to hear. Ephesians 1:18 says, "I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his holy people." Knowing that God has called to do a mission year brings so many different feelings. I often question if this is the right thing for me to do with life. I wonder what effect taking a year of school will have on me. Many times I find myself stressing about all I will be missing out on this year in Walla Walla. What will happen with my friends, family, and other relationships? But instead, the eyes of my heart need to know the hope of God's calling for me. I am learning to focus on all that I will gain during my year away. The new connections I will make. The lives I will touch. And how I will make new memories and stories that many people will never have. For me, this is a year for growth. It's a year for me to grow closer to God and begin to love myself more. And although I may not feel ready for this year, or feel like I am best for the job of teaching 5th grade, Ephesians 2:10 says "For we are God's handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works which God prepared in advance for us to do." This verse helps assure me that with God's help, I am prepared to do the work he has called me to do. I am strong enough to take on any challenge that comes before me, and I am the right person for this position. This leads me to Philippians and my forever favorite bible verse. Philippians 4:13 states, "I can do all this through him who gives me strength." I am ready to follow God's calling for me. I am ready to teach my students about God's love, and I am ready to feel at peace knowing this was the right decision for my life. A popular verse that I would always hear growing up at school and church was Jeremiah 29:11 which says, "For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." I have always had a hard time believing God's plan for me and I'm sure that after this year, after seeing the change in my life and the opening of my eyes, my trust for God's plan will grow.



I am looking for more chapters of the Bible to read, particularly ones that can help with faith, strength, trusting God's place, following His call, and whatever else He believes I need to hear. Please feel free to use the links on my home page to send me memory verses or even chapters of the Bible that you feel would be a good read for me on this journey.


Much love.










This was taken yesterday morning, as I woke up and we opened our blinds to let the light in. A moment I felt at peace.

Comments


bottom of page