top of page

Faith Over Fear

{September 21, 2021]


On May 14, Walla Walla University hosted a vespers for the Student Missionaries of the upcoming year. I remember feeling super nervous because many people were unaware of my decision to serve and this would be the way a lot of my friends would find out. When we arrived, the SM directors told us to choose a flag, particularly of the location we'd be serving at for the year, to walk down and present for the beginning of the service. At this time I had no idea where I would end up. I had many places in mind but many doors had closed. So with Palau and Majuro at the top of my mind, I chose the Majuro flag to march down the church with. Now a little over 4 months later, I am on my last day out of 3.5 weeks of quarantine and will be on my temporary home island of Majuro tomorrow. It seems like just yesterday I was beginning paperwork for this adventure of a lifetime. And in less than 24 hours, this year may finally begin.

On September 6 we departed from Hawaii to begin quarantine in the Kwajalein Atoll, in the Marshall Islands. We passed through the International Date Line which is so crazy to me! We lost a day and technically landed in the Islands on September 7. Looking back, this has been such a LONG 2.5 weeks of our quarantine process. Our food portions are extremely small, the bathroom are communal, and we've only been allowed outside twice in the span of 2.5 weeks here. We are also now a day ahead, and 5 hours behind my home time zone. Meaning, all my friends and family are usually asleep when it's only 6 p.m. here. And for those who know me quite well, know I don't do well sitting in my thoughts. And that seems to be all I've done these last 3.5 weeks. I've caught myself stressing over what's to come. Will my fifth graders love me? Will I do a good job coaching basketball? Am I strong enough for these next 9 months away? The other day I asked my dad "Dad... if this wasn't a part of God's plan for me, I wouldn't be here right?" I have sat working to make myself believe that following this calling is all a part of God's plan for my life. I am coming to believe that I am the right person for this position, and I will change the lives of the kids I come to interact with, and they will change mine.


As I've worked on reading my bible, I came across the story of Daniel. We see how in Daniel 9 that Daniel is praying for clarity and understanding. He sat waiting to hear from the Lord, yet nothing was happening. But what Daniel didn't know, was that God was sending messages to Daniel in response to his prayers, but Satan was delaying His answers. I have felt like I am in Daniel's position. I felt this calling to serve, and my flights have been postponed, we've needed to quarantine for 3.5 weeks, and I've been stuck in my thoughts with Satan giving me endless trials before I've even arrived in Majuro. But as I've sat, feeling sad for what's happening at Walla Walla that I'll be missing out on, I've been blinded by what's ahead. Fresh coconuts, warm and clear ocean water, greats, a whole new group of friends who will soon become family. And a year of growth mentally and spiritually. I am so excited for what's ahead and am so glad to be finished with a long, difficult, and mentally exhausting month of quarantine.



The title of today's blog is something extremely significant to me as I take this year away to serve. Sometime spring quarter Leilani sent me a picture of a beautiful necklace with the saying "Faith over fear" engraved on the front. From that moment on, I fell in love with the saying. Preparing for this year, there has been so much fear.. and an endless amount of doubt. But this saying reminds me of my favorite memory verse, Philippians 4:13, that with Christ and faith, all things are possible. So I hopped on Amazon and ordered 2 necklaces with that saying on them to surprise Leilani with. Not too long after, she handed me a shirt with "Faith over fear" written in a beautiful cursive font. And although I cannot wear my necklace this year, I brought it along to hang in my apartment as a daily reminder to keep my faith to overpower the fears I will face throughout the year.


I am so excited to write my next blog updating everyone after I've arrived, met my kids and fellow student missionaries, and settled into the new life I will be living for the following 8 months until returning home sometime in the beginning of June.




"God of Abraham

You're the God of covenant and faithful promises Time and time again

You have proven

You'll do just what You said

Though the storms may come

And the winds may blow, I'll remain steadfast And let my heart learn when You speak a word It will come to pass Great is Your faithfulness to me

From the rising sun to the setting same I will praise Your name Great is Your faithfulness to me"

Comments


bottom of page