top of page

The Beginning

{August 30, 2021}


It's hard to believe that I am sitting here, quarantining in Hawaii, writing the first blog of my year as a student missionary. For those who may not know, I am starting the journey to serve and teach fifth grade in Majuro, located in the Marshall Islands. This was a decision I had been considering for the last several years, and it just so happened that it would work well to go this year. I spent about 2 weeks in Peru my sophomore year of high school and loved it! I loved working with the kids, I loved meeting new people, and most importantly I loved showing another culture my interest to try new things, and learn about their way of life. Beginning winter quarter this last year at Walla Walla, many opportunities presented themselves to hear from previous student missions and the SM program became well known to me. As soon as I showed interest, I was told about available locations and positions for me to begin researching. Multiple islands struck my interest including Palau, Pohnpei, Yap, and even Majuro. Leilani Lockwood and I, knowing we'd like to go together, began talking to previous student missions from various locations. We saw teaching positions we'd be interested in and began to apply. Sadly, many doors closed and we started to gain an understanding of just how flexible we would need to be with this process. But with closed doors, comes many new ones opening. We saw that Majuro had teaching positions we'd be interested in and we applied. Before long, we were reached out to and accepted for grades 4 and 5. The last few days have been filled with excitement, tears, and lots of hard goodbyes for us both, and the path leading up to our departure on the 29th was filled with endless uncertainty. Flights would be scheduled, and then canceled. And repeat. Leaving home for 10 months is hard enough to mentally process, so this rollercoaster of departing dates did not help. But the day came, and before I knew it I was flying to Hawaii with Leilani, who will be teaching fourth grade. We were able to spend a bit of the day after landing enjoying the beauties of Oahu. We enjoyed good food, good company, and a beautiful island. It was a great way to begin the trip, before a 3-week quarantine process. Now as we wrap up our first day of the quarantine, we are still a bit jet-lagged and still adjusting to the time change, this is all becoming more of a reality. Like, how is this happening?? After everything, we've gone through to get here? After our 3 weeks of quarantine, we will be on our "home" island meeting our students, and even other student missionaries. I know there is so much in store for myself, and the many other missionaries who are choosing to serve this year. I know there are lots of hardships ahead, but the result will be one that will forever change my life for the better. I look forward to growing and strengthening who I am as a person, as well as my relationship with Christ. Thank you for taking the time to read this, and follow along with my journey. I am excited to document this year not only for myself but for all my loving friends and family who provide nothing but constant support as I follow God's calling for my life.



“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”

{Proverbs 3: 5-6}




Comments


bottom of page